Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



Rep. Ratcliffe announces Rising Lone Star winners in Bowie County

Article Image Alt Text

Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Texas) announced the 2019 Rising Lone Star winners from Bowie County today. The recipients included:


  • Marc Reiter from Hooks High School
  • Carley Harpold from Hooks High School
  • Hunter Thomas from Maud High School
  • Makenna Jones from Maud High School
  • Johnathan Reed from Redwater High School
  • Bethanee Calicott from Redwater High School
  • Daniel Puente from Pleasant Grove High School
  • Madison Brannan from Pleasant Grove High School
  • Reed Russell from Texas High School
  • Hollan Borowitz from Texas High School
  • Colt Freeman from Liberty-Eylau High School
  • Makenzie Meredith from Liberty-Eylau High School
  • Trenton Stewart from James Bowie High School


“I launched the Rising Lone Star program to showcase young folks from across our 18 counties who set themselves apart from the pack as distinguished leaders,” Ratcliffe said.


“I’d like to congratulate this year’s winning students for standing out as the best and brightest in their class. I wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors as they graduate high school. I’m confident they’ll go on to make Texas’ 4th District very proud.”


Ratcliffe launched the Rising Lone Star award program to recognize high school students throughout Texas’ 4th District who exhibit outstanding leadership or service in their schools and communities. The recipients are nominated for the Rising Lone Star by their principals, administrators or counselors.

Bowie County Citizens Tribune

139 E.N. Front Street
New Boston, Texas 75570